6x470 rig. What PSU?

mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45
edited October 2016 in Mining
Hey guys,

I plan on building a 6x RX470 rig on a ASRock h97 anniversary MOBO.

My question is what is the expected power draw after modding, and what power output PSU should I look for? If you have any specific PSU's it would help me a lot :)

Thanks!

Comments

  • kpskps Member Posts: 23
    This will depend on the bios and mining type you use, I got a rig with 7x asus rx 470 and i'm using a 1000w evga g2 unit, dual mining uses roughly 900w at wall, eth only mode uses much less. Generally some gold or higher quality psu within 1000-1200w range should be good enough.
  • drizzt_do_urdendrizzt_do_urden Member Posts: 181 ✭✭✭
    I use corsair platinum 1000 watt. very efficient!
  • jsanzspjsanzsp Member Posts: 185 ✭✭
    edited October 2016
    with a corsair 850 gold It'd be enough? I want to buy this for my x6 rx 470 but I have afraid to stay short, in http://outervision.com/power-supply-calculator 800w psu recommended
  • blackwolfblackwolf EarthMember Posts: 86
    EVGA 1200G2/P2 or 1300G2/P2 for extra breathing room if you choose to mine a more intensive algo in the future.
  • mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45
    blackwolf said:

    EVGA 1200G2/P2 or 1300G2/P2 for extra breathing room if you choose to mine a more intensive algo in the future.


    Yeah, that was my point. I know its better to alwyas leave about 10% breathing room for the PSU.

    Form what I understand, a rig with 6 470 draw about 850-900W?
  • jsanzspjsanzsp Member Posts: 185 ✭✭
    mine_eth said:

    blackwolf said:

    EVGA 1200G2/P2 or 1300G2/P2 for extra breathing room if you choose to mine a more intensive algo in the future.


    Yeah, that was my point. I know its better to alwyas leave about 10% breathing room for the PSU.

    Form what I understand, a rig with 6 470 draw about 850-900W?
    No 6 rx 470 rig consumes much less, not including the bios low power, not understand spend money on 1300w power supply

    http://outervision.com/b/WWpDVe
  • mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45
    jsanzsp said:

    mine_eth said:

    blackwolf said:

    EVGA 1200G2/P2 or 1300G2/P2 for extra breathing room if you choose to mine a more intensive algo in the future.


    Yeah, that was my point. I know its better to alwyas leave about 10% breathing room for the PSU.

    Form what I understand, a rig with 6 470 draw about 850-900W?
    No 6 rx 470 rig consumes much less, not including the bios low power, not understand spend money on 1300w power supply

    http://outervision.com/b/WWpDVe
    Hmm so a 1000W should do just fine I could even use an 850/900W PSU, right?
  • jsanzspjsanzsp Member Posts: 185 ✭✭
    mine_eth said:

    jsanzsp said:

    mine_eth said:

    blackwolf said:

    EVGA 1200G2/P2 or 1300G2/P2 for extra breathing room if you choose to mine a more intensive algo in the future.


    Yeah, that was my point. I know its better to alwyas leave about 10% breathing room for the PSU.

    Form what I understand, a rig with 6 470 draw about 850-900W?
    No 6 rx 470 rig consumes much less, not including the bios low power, not understand spend money on 1300w power supply

    http://outervision.com/b/WWpDVe
    Hmm so a 1000W should do just fine I could even use an 850/900W PSU, right?
    1000w is a serious power for 6x470 with a safe margin, depends on the money you want to spend, there is much money difference between a power supply 850, 1000, or 1300. If you can afford it buy more powerful, but if you do not want to spend much buy a 850w certifiqued + gold or platinium quality psu


  • drizzt_do_urdendrizzt_do_urden Member Posts: 181 ✭✭✭
    850 not enough. You need 1000 watt.
  • ursul0ursul0 Member Posts: 54
    mine_eth said:



    Form what I understand, a rig with 6 470 draw about 850-900W?

    Yes.
    mod+UV+mem OC I get 28MH dual mine, card consumes about 140W, 6 cards on H97 ann. just below 900 off the wall.

    Do mind however that it can peak much higher if youre not careful or smthg fucks up.

  • mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45
    So I am getting mixed responses over here :D 850 or 1000w :D Which one? Yeah, I'd like to go for the cheaper option, but at the same time get a good quality PSU. And if I have to spend extra, that would be fine too.
  • cidmocidmo Member Posts: 373 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2016
    ur gonna want extra breathing room for what ursul0 said
    to get the offsets to work right u need to set them when the miner is running
    my 6 card rx rig starts in the 900s but after offsets drops considerably
  • TruthchanterTruthchanter Member Posts: 549 ✭✭✭
    1000w if you dual mine, 850w if you mine eth only and undervolt enough
  • mine_ethmine_eth Member Posts: 45

    1000w if you dual mine, 850w if you mine eth only and undervolt enough

    Yeah, I thought so. I don't know much bout dual mining, but it will come up with time once I set it up to mine ETH.


    Any suggestions for a reliable brand/model?
  • Zorg33Zorg33 Member Posts: 220 ✭✭
    1000-1300W server psus for me :)
    You can get them very cheap. Under 50bucks including cables, connectors, etc. Of course you have to assemble them together yourself.
  • kemo6600kemo6600 Member Posts: 62
    I was at the same situation as you, finally decided to spend extra 50$ to get the Evga 1300 G2 over 1050 Gq, thought i future proof my self incase i wanted to upgrade to a more power hungry card, i am using around 850W from the wall for 6x 470 hasing 170 MH .
    Also remember that without under voltage and under clocking you could easily pull 1000+W from the wall
  • jsanzspjsanzsp Member Posts: 185 ✭✭
    edited October 2016
    kemo6600 said:

    I was at the same situation as you, finally decided to spend extra 50$ to get the Evga 1300 G2 over 1050 Gq, thought i future proof my self incase i wanted to upgrade to a more power hungry card, i am using around 850W from the wall for 6x 470 hasing 170 MH .
    Also remember that without under voltage and under clocking you could easily pull 1000+W from the wall


    the next generation of graphics amd will be more efficient = less power hungry, and more power hash,
    this is always the case for the manufacturing process in smaller nanometers.

    if you're using at the wall 850w for x6 rx 470, depending on the efficiency of your power supply, They can be 750w consumption

    Next AMD vega It is just around the corner, maybe it's a good reason for to take advantage of 1300w power supply or no.
    http://wccftech.com/amd-vega-10-gpu-hbm2-q4-2016-professional/

  • chuckfeastchuckfeast Member Posts: 19
    kemo6600 said:

    Also remember that without under voltage and under clocking you could easily pull 1000+W from the wall

    This is the key point. My rigs run about 800W with bios mods. I lot of people running 470 rigs will confidently state that it can be done on 1000W PSU, and they are correct BUT that doesn't mean any configuration of those cards is safe.

    If I were just using wattman to undervolt and somehow started mining without ensuring the settings had stayed in place, I would blow my PSU.
  • jsanzspjsanzsp Member Posts: 185 ✭✭
    edited October 2016
    My 6 rx 470 rig run at 700W at the wall, checked whit digital Consumption meter with power supply corsair plus gold rm850x at 160mh/s between 50º and 58º degrees, very happy with my settings
  • RavinderDhillonRavinderDhillon Member Posts: 74 ✭✭

    kemo6600 said:

    Also remember that without under voltage and under clocking you could easily pull 1000+W from the wall

    This is the key point. My rigs run about 800W with bios mods. I lot of people running 470 rigs will confidently state that it can be done on 1000W PSU, and they are correct BUT that doesn't mean any configuration of those cards is safe.

    If I were just using wattman to undervolt and somehow started mining without ensuring the settings had stayed in place, I would blow my PSU.
    More likely cause system instability and shut downs, than "blowing" the psu.
or to comment.