My mining rig for 2017, is it profitable for the next 12months

MattiegkMattiegk Member Posts: 18
So I'm brand new to mining. I missed out on bitcoin after I decided against it in 2015, absolutely kicked my self for not jumping on the bang waggon.
Decided to take the risk with nyoc and have purchased the following.

MSI z170a pro gamer carbon, £125
7x GTX 1070 8GB Founders Edition, £2700( ouch)
120GB SSD
G9300 CPU
2x4GB DDR4 Ram
1200w crossfire PSU

Total cost was like £3200 so about $4000 +
As nyoc price rocketed so did the hardware cost and availability. I'm setting it all up this weekend if it all arrives in time.
I just hope I can make a decent profit on it before the bubble bursts?

Comments

• PlantDrPlantDr Member Posts: 122 ✭✭
    edited June 15
    I am with you, just started and should have things going this weekend. I believe it will be a bumpy ride (with the volatility of the price of nyoc), but we will see how it play out. Best of luck to you.
  • FriendlyFriendly CanuckistanMember Posts: 31
    Crytpo is always a risk...it's decentralized and inherently unstable, but the trend shows that it is profitable, particularly now. so have at 'er! I just dropped $3K on four GTX 1070's and two EVGA 850w G2 to pair up with my old Asrock Z87 Killer...gonona order another three 1070 and run 7. also thinking of adding a couple six 1060 6GB rigs to this as well.

1070's are the way to go I think, as they're 20% more powerful than a 1060 for about the same 20% in higher cost and help maintain a much higher resale value when you retire them for a new/better GPU. B)
  • praestopraesto Member Posts: 115
    It's a shot in the dark. Eth has dropped over 30% in the last two days and is continuing to decline. More people mining also increase he supply which hampers price a very little bit.