Building a 6x480 rig, will a 1000W PSU be enough?

OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
Title says it all. Will a 1000W PSU be enough for a 6x480 rig?

Thanks.

Comments

  • cvipercviper Member Posts: 132 ✭✭
    If you plan on mining etherium with underclocked / overclocked memory / undervolted then yes at 27 mh/s 130w per card than yes, but its always better to have a spare headroom for other coins or dual mining or not underclocking, so 1200 is sweet spot, 1300w evga the best.
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    Will undervolting void the warranty?

    Im planning on getting XFX 480s.
  • bbcoinbbcoin Member Posts: 376 ✭✭✭

    Title says it all. Will a 1000W PSU be enough for a 6x480 rig?

    Thanks.

    It will be enough for minig ETH only. Your computer will run out of power for dual mining since AMD drivers reset to default settings after any crash.
  • un4givenun4given Member Posts: 172 ✭✭
    Just spend a little bit more for EVGA SuperNova G2 1300W. do not forget that watt is not the only important thing, but also how many 12v rails a PSU has.

    1000w wont be enough for Dual Mining with 6 times RX 480.

    Undervolting wont void your warranty and is going to save you some bucks on electricity and will enable lower temps on GPUs
  • bbcoinbbcoin Member Posts: 376 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    Calculate the price of the Power Supply versus efficiency. In Europe with 230V Bronze Powersupply perform 85-87% and are half the price of the gold ones ;)

    I would never buy 1300W gold supply... I mean you can get a bronze and an extra GPU for the same price...
  • un4givenun4given Member Posts: 172 ✭✭
    bbcoin said:



    I mean you can get a bronze and an extra GPU for the same price...

    your calculation is wrong, Sir. :smiley: cheapest bronze CPU with 6x PCIe is around 100€
    EVGA 1300 Gold can be bought for 230€ and has a long warranty.

    didn't see a RX480 for 130€ anywhere?! :dizzy:

  • bbcoinbbcoin Member Posts: 376 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016
    un4given said:

    bbcoin said:



    I mean you can get a bronze and an extra GPU for the same price...

    your calculation is wrong, Sir. :smiley: cheapest bronze CPU with 6x PCIe is around 100€
    EVGA 1300 Gold can be bought for 230€ and has a long warranty.

    didn't see a RX480 for 130€ anywhere?! :dizzy:

    you don't need 6xPCIE with cards below 200W. You can run them off of molex/sata.

    I was buying those for 60 euros before price increase
    https://amazon.de/Cooler-Master-G750M-PC-Netzteil-RS750-AMAAB1-EU/dp/B00FNCAPJQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470310220&sr=8-1&keywords=coolermaster+g750

    It will run underclocked/undervolted 6x480 no problem :) and it's got 5 year warranty, so yeah...
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    edited August 2016
    I cant get the EVGA PSU where I live unfortunately.

    I can get the XFX Pro series though, 1000W platinum, 1050W gold.

    Im just looking to mine ETH, not dual mine.
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    @bbcoin do you suggest Windows 7 or 10 for 6 gpus? Are any registry mods required or any other modification?
  • hasherhasher Member Posts: 642 ✭✭✭
    Windows 7 and 8 requires the 6xGPU registry mod for using 5-8 GPUs. If you use Windows 10, it supports up to 8 GPUs out of the box, so no need for any registry modifications.
  • hasherhasher Member Posts: 642 ✭✭✭
    Also i'm using the newer 16.7.2 crimson drivers, and they run at full speed just like the 15.12 drivers do, but with added support for the newer 470/480 cards, so go ahead and use them.
  • bbcoinbbcoin Member Posts: 376 ✭✭✭

    @bbcoin do you suggest Windows 7 or 10 for 6 gpus? Are any registry mods required or any other modification?

    Windows 8.1 for previous generations, Win 10 for RX480/470

    Yes, you have to modify Win 10 update system, not to download and restart your rig ;)
  • hasherhasher Member Posts: 642 ✭✭✭
    All my rigs use 7990, 280X, 380X, and 390 cards, all running on Win10 (except for 2 ethOS rigs) and they are running perfectly. I feel like Win10 is more stable than Win8.1 - and yes, make sure u configure your windows system to not auto update and also set your power saving settings to never put your computer to sleep :)
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    @hasher @bbcoin thanks guys for the help, I appreciate it.

    I've done that twice with some rigs where I didn't change the power settings and the bloody rigs went to sleep overnight
  • OrangeBubblegumOrangeBubblegum Member Posts: 52
    One more things, do you guys think 290s are worth getting hold of, or is their hash rate decreasing over time these days?
  • hasherhasher Member Posts: 642 ✭✭✭
    Lol the sleep thing happened to me too when I upgraded everything to Windows 10 and forgot to adjust the sleep settings :smiley: lol
  • bbcoinbbcoin Member Posts: 376 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016

    One more things, do you guys think 290s are worth getting hold of, or is their hash rate decreasing over time these days?

    Costwise yes 290's are a good idea when undervolted BUT they are a pain in the ass to run in comparsion with other cards... Require powered riseres, HDMI plugs alot of the time and because there's lots more power flowing through there's more heat. You'd need huge power supply too...
  • otoxotox Member Posts: 41
    Yes, 800 watts peak after tweaking is what I am running a full rig of 480s at.
  • ps9864ps9864 London, UKMember Posts: 14
    what motherboards are you guys using?
  • otoxotox Member Posts: 41
    I have one rig on the h81 pro btc, and 3 others on the h97 anniversary. Both are equally good, but the h97 is substantially cheaper so I would go with that. I run a cheap Celeron and super cheap 4gb of ram. Cheap is the key to profit.
  • quake96321quake96321 Member Posts: 15
    h81 pro btc, celereon G1840, 4Gb ram on 2 rigs
  • grispogrispo Member Posts: 2
    edited August 2016
    I think 1000w PSU for 6x rig of 480 is more than ok!

    So... I'm thinking at 480 RX 8 GB ... I'd like to know what would be a good motherboard that will let me do overclock and undervolt without problems. I was thinking about this motherboard Asrock 1150 H97M Anniversary or this ASROCK H81 Pro BTC ... so in the future I may add more RX 480 ... Do you have suggestions?
  • otoxotox Member Posts: 41
    My suggestion is to NOT get the H97M, but the H97 (minus the M) as the M only has 3 PCIE slots. Additionally I have noticed no difference in hashing power from the 4 GB vs 8 GB 480s.
  • GreaterNinjaGreaterNinja Member Posts: 60
    edited August 2016
    In short: At stock settings, 6 x 480 will probably consume close to or more than 1000w at times. However, if you downvolt the gpu, then it is certainly possible to make them consume ~700 watts.

    You also do not need to use just 1 power supply. I use two power supplies per 6 video cards. The cost of getting 2 x gold 650-750w versus 1 x 1300 is significant.
  • EfterlysTEfterlysT Member Posts: 99
    This is possible but me myself would have bought a bigger PSU to have som more room.
    I run 6 x RX 480 8GB in one rig.
    With overclocked memory to 2200-2250 and a bit underclock on the rest my rig is hashing at 163-164Mhs @ 990w. I will tweak it some more to lower the powerdraw.

    Underclocked this rig will produce 148Mhs @ around 850w at the wall.

    Asrock H81 Pro BTC
    Celeron G1820
    4GB ram
    64GB SSD
    Silverstone Strider 1200w
    Powered USB risers
    6 x MSI Reference RX 480 8GB
  • otoxotox Member Posts: 41
    EfterlysT said:

    This is possible but me myself would have bought a bigger PSU to have som more room.
    I run 6 x RX 480 8GB in one rig.
    With overclocked memory to 2200-2250 and a bit underclock on the rest my rig is hashing at 163-164Mhs @ 990w. I will tweak it some more to lower the powerdraw.

    Underclocked this rig will produce 148Mhs @ around 850w at the wall.

    Asrock H81 Pro BTC
    Celeron G1820
    4GB ram
    64GB SSD
    Silverstone Strider 1200w
    Powered USB risers
    6 x MSI Reference RX 480 8GB

    This is exactly what I get as well. 850 from the wall, my goal however is to get 3 rigs under 20amps so i can run 3 rigs on a single 20amp circuit. I will most likely have to lose some mhs to do that but this will let me run 12 rigs vs 9.
or to comment.